2010 Calendar of Holidays for International Business Travel and Events

Keeping a holidays and events calendar will help any business traveler or meeting professional avoid scheduling an activity or program when guests may have other conflicting interests or obligations. It should include international holidays and a list of known major business events in case you want to create an event around it. For example, many […]

Keeping a holidays and events calendar will help any business traveler or meeting professional avoid scheduling an activity or program when guests may have other conflicting interests or obligations. It should include international holidays and a list of known major business events in case you want to create an event around it.

For example, many event planners establish hospitality packages associated with major events, such as Super Bowl, the Final Four, the MLB All Star Game, and so on. Or, for those who can’t attend the event for whatever reason, they may choose to create their own private party and screening of the event in a private space in their own city for programs such as an Olympic competition, Wimbledon, the Academy Awards and so on.

The following event calendar for 2010 holidays and special events identifies many important dates that event planners should keep in mind when planning and scheduling events:

January 2010 Holidays and Events

  • January 1 (Friday), New Year’s Day
  • January 18 (Monday), Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
  • January 28 (Thursday), Berlin Six Day Race (bicycle competitions, through February 2)

February 2010 Holidays and Events

  • Black History Month (U.S.)
  • February 7 (Sunday), Super Bowl XLIV (Miami)
  • February 11 (Thursday), Berlin International Film Festival (through February 21)
  • February 12 (Friday), Lincoln’s Birthday (U.S.)
  • February 12 (Friday), Vancouver 2010 Olympic Games (through February 28)
  • February 14 (Sunday), Valentine’s Day
  • February 14 (Sunday), Chinese New Year
  • February 14 (Sunday), Daytona 500
  • February 16 (Tuesday), President’s Day (Washington’s Birthday observed, U.S.)
  • February 16 (Tuesday), Mardi Gras
  • February 17 (Wednesday), Ash Wednesday
  • February 21 (Sunday), British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) Awards (UK)

March 2010 Holidays and Events

April 2010 Holidays and Events

  • April 1 (Thursday), Holy Thursday
  • April 2 (Friday), Good Friday
  • April 3, 5 (Saturday, Monday), Final Four (Indianapolis, IN at Butler University)
  • April 3 (Saturday), Semana Santa (Holy Week, local special events held in Spain, through April 12)
  • April 4 (Sunday), Easter
  • April 5 (Monday), Easter Monday (UK, Canada)
  • April 5 (Monday), Masters Tournament (Augusta National Golf Club, Georgia, USA, through April 11)
  • April 11 (Sunday), Holocaust Remembrance Day
  • April 21 (Wednesday), Administrative Professionals Day
  • April 29 (Thursday), Golden Week (Japan, through May 5)

May 2010 Holidays and Events

  • May 1 (Saturday), Kentucky Derby
  • May 3 (Monday), May Day Holiday (UK)
  • May 5 (Wednesday), Cinco de Mayo
  • May 9 (Sunday), Mother’s Day
  • May 12 (Wednesday), Cannes Film Festival (through May 23)
  • May 24 (Monday), Victoria Day (Canada, Scotland)
  • May 30 (Sunday), Indianapolis 500
  • May 31 (Monday), Memorial Day (U.S.)

June 2010 Holidays and Events

July 2010 Holidays and Events

August 2010 Holidays and Events

  • August 15 (Sunday) Ferragosto, (Italy)
  • August 11 (Wednesday), Ramadan (begins at sunset the previous day, through September 10)
  • August 30 (Monday), Summer Bank Holiday (UK, Ireland)

September 2010 Holidays and Events

  • September 5 (Sunday), Father’s Day (Australia, New Zealand)
  • September 6 (Monday), Labor Day (U.S.)
  • September 6 (Monday), Labour Day (Canada)
  • September 9 (Thursday), Rosh Hashanah (begins at sundown the previous day)
  • Hispanic Heritage Month, September 15-October 15 (U.S.)
  • September 18 (Monday), Oktoberfest, Munich, Germany (ends Oct 3)
  • September 18 (Saturday), Yom Kippur (begins at sundown the previous day)
  • September 24 (Friday), La Mercé (Barcelona, Spain)

October 2010 Holidays and Events

  • October 1 (Friday), Ryder Cup 2010 (Celtic Manor Resort, City of Newport, Wales, through October 3)
  • October 11 (Monday), Columbus Day
  • October 11 (Monday), Thanksgiving (Canada)
  • October 12 (Tuesday), El Pilar (Zaragoza, Spain, festivities take place the week before and a few days following)
  • October 31 (Sunday), Halloween

November 2010 Holidays and Events

  • November 7 (Sunday), Daylight Savings Time ends at 2 a.m.
  • November 9 (Tuesday), Election Day (U.S.)
  • November 11 (Thursday), Veterans Day (U.S.)
  • November 11 (Thursday), Remembrance Day (UK, Canada)
  • November 25 (Thursday), Thanksgiving (U.S.)
  • November 28 (Saturday), 2010 Grey Cup (Edmonton, Canada, game and week long festival)

December 2010 Holidays and Events

  • December 2 (Thursday), Hanukkah (begins at sundown the previous day)
  • December 25 (Saturday), Christmas
  • December 26 (Sunday), Kwanzaa
  • December 26 (Sunday), Boxing Day (UK, Canada, Ireland)
  • January 1, 2011 (Saturday), New Year’s Day

by Rob Hard, April 13, 2010 (may not be reproduced)

Comments

Log in or create a user account to comment.

Rob is editor of Business Travel Destinations. He was voted among the top 10 business travel bloggers by USA TODAY 10Best. Rob reviews international destinations for meetings and events — where business travelers go, the hotels where they stay and their lifestyle preferences on the road. He spent more than a decade planning hundreds of corporate events throughout the U.S. for a Fortune 50 company, including meetings, conferences, seminars, executive retreats and other special events. Rob was previously the event planning guide for About.com (owned by The New York Times Company) from 2007 – 2011. His articles have appeared in business travel publications and travel sites internationally.